News from East Midlands Trains


'The Best of the Best' Recognised at Annual East Midlands Trains Awards Ceremony

  • East Midlands Trains recognise top employees at 3rd annual awards ceremony
  • Great Service Awards champion the efforts of staff who ‘go the extra mile’
  • 24 awards given to staff across all areas of East Midlands Trains
  • Ceremony caps off an excellent year for East Midlands Trains

East Midlands Trains staff have once again been recognised for their outstanding contributions at the company’s third annual awards ceremony in the year East Midlands Trains became the passenger operator of the year.

The Great Service Awards were held at Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, home of Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club and saw awards given to staff across all areas of the business, from front line station staff to back office and ‘behind the scenes’ staff. In total, over 1,200 nominations were received across 24 award categories. Each runner up and winner received a trophy and vouchers presented by East Midlands Trains Managing Director, David Horne.

The main award of the night was the ‘Outstanding Individual’ Award and received more than 600 passenger nominations, highlighting the excellent service East Midlands Trains staff provide. However, the judging panel chose Kass Pinjara, a Customer Service staff member based at London St Pancras International.  Customers had praised Kass stating he was “always helpful and always approachable”, “The most kind and friendly person I have ever met” and “the biggest smile in London!”. Kass said he was stunned and humbled to have won the award and thanked everyone for their kind nominations and support.

Other notable award winners include, Dale Bagshaw from Chesterfield Station, who scooped the award for Ticket Office Staff of the Year. There was very little to choose between the nominees but Dale was given the trophy on the back of two incidents where he truly went above and beyond the call of duty. On one occasion, Dale administered CPR to a passenger and saved their life in the ticket hall and on another occasion, drove a passenger home so they could collect their prepaid train ticket.

Andy Fretwell, who works at Sheffield Station, was named Dispatch Staff of the Year. As well as assisting passengers and helping train services to depart on time, Andy has worked extra hours to change timetable posters as well as being an integral part of the Station of the Year team.

Driver of the Year went to Paul Green, who is based in Norwich. Paul has been with the company for many years and as well as being an experienced and skilful driver, he also helps with training new drivers, developing manuals and helping to look after our staff areas and notice boards.

Neil Micklethwaite, Customer Service and Commercial Director for East Midlands Trains, said: “We have absolutely fantastic staff, right across the network, focused on delivering great service we can all be proud of. The Great Service Awards recognise all groups of staff and their efforts to help our passengers as well as paying tribute to those who have gone that extra mile, those that are the best of the best.

“The Great Service Awards received more than 1,200 nominations from passengers and colleagues and picking one winner in each category was incredibly challenging. However, it was also extremely pleasing to see so many of our staff being recognised for their hard work and dedication.

“Many of the nominees had been nominated in previous years too, proving that excellent service is an ongoing commitment and goal to strive for and we are already looking forward to the 2015 Great Service Awards.”

The full list of winners in the 2014 East Midlands Trains Great Service Awards are:

  • Outstanding Individual – Kass Pinjara (St Pancras)
  • Directors Awards – Danni Blavins (Sheffield) & Mark Coney (Derby)
  • Cleaner of the Year – Steve O’Neil (St Pancras)
  • Customer Service Centre Staff of the Year – Charlotte Garbutt (Derby – Control Centre)
  • Customer Host of the Year – Nicola Carr (Sheffield) & Melanie Harrison (Derby)
  • Customer Welcome Host of the Year – Laura Corobana (St Pancras)
  • Depot Staff of the Year – Paul Corrie (Neville Hill)
  • Dispatch Staff of the Year – Andrew Fretwell (Sheffield)
  • Driver of the Year – Paul Green (Norwich)
  • Manager of the Year – Oliver Starbuck (Norwich)
  • Network Rail Staff of the Year – Sarah Butterworth
  • Newcomer of the Year – Donna Johnson (Derby – Control Centre)
  • Outstanding Contribution to Right Time Rail – Ben Divers (Lincoln)
  • Outstanding Contribution to Safety – Cheree Clegg (Derby – Control Centre)
  • Outstanding Contribution to Community – Sharon Angel (Sheffield)
  • Outstanding Contribution to Environment – Mark Maternaghan (Derby)
  • Revenue Protection of the Year – Gary Cresswell
  • Sales Person of the Year – Sam Till (Derby)
  • Senior Conductor of the Year – Yvonne Clay (Norwich)
  • Supervisor of the Year – Diana Jackson (St Pancras)
  • Team of the Year – Skegness Station
  • Ticket Office Staff of the Year – Dale Bagshaw (Chesterfield)
  • Train Manager of the Year – Heather Orchard (St Pancras)
  • Unsung Hero – Teresa Overfield (Neville Hill)